The legal drinking age Virginia is 21 and consumption of alcohol by anyone under 21 is illicit, with a couple of particular cases. Here Virginia’s definition and penalties for underage driving under the influence.
Even though drivers under 21 represent under 10% of licensed drivers, they account for for14% of DUI related fatalities in Virginia, as indicated by one overview. Since underage consumers cause a lopsided number of alcohol-related auto fatalities, the models are stricter, and the penalties might be harsher for those under 21.
What constitutes driving under the influence?
On the off chance that a chemical test verifies that a driver under 21 has a blood alcohol content BAC of .02% or higher, the driver can be referred to for driving under the influence. (For those 21 or more seasoned, the BAC is .08%)
The Severity of Drunk Driving Under 21
Driving while intoxicated by alcohol or different intoxicants while you are under the age of 21 is a Class 1 misdemeanor in the Commonwealth of Virginia. A Class 1 misdemeanor is the most certain misdemeanor under Virginia law. The scope of discipline incorporates up to multi-year in prison and a fine up to $2,500. The sentencing judge will regularly have the tact to force a sentence of both correctional facility time and a fine or he can sentence you to either imprison time or a fine.
Minimum Punishments for Underage Drinking
In the event that you are indicted drunk driving, and you are under the age of 21, you are liable to specific necessary least sentencing arrangements under Virginia law. For instance, you will be required to pay a mandatory least fine of $500 or play out a necessary least of 50 network benefit hours. Your driver’s license will likewise be officially suspended for seven days from the date of your capture. Also, you will be required to relinquish your driver’s license for a multi-year from the time of your conviction.
In any case, you have the choice to go to an alcohol wellbeing activity program that is endorsed by the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP). Upon your effective consummation of the plan, you might be qualified for a confined driving license that will enable you to drive for constrained purposes including to and from work, school, medicinal arrangements and court appearances.
- 18.2-266.1 Under Age 21 DUI/DWI; Penalty
- It shall be unlawful for any person under the age of 21 to operate any motor vehicle after illegally consuming alcohol. Any such person with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02 percent or more by weight byv olume or 0.02 grams or more per 210 liters of breath but less than 0.08 by weight by volume or less than 0.08 grams per 210 liters of breath as indicated by a chemical test administered as provided in this Under Age DUI article shall be in violation of this section.
- A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Punishment shall be (i) forfeiture of such person’s license to operate a motor vehicle for a period of one year from the date of conviction and (ii) a mandatory minimum fine of $500 or performance of a mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service. This suspension period shall be in addition to the suspension period provided under § 46.2-391.2. The penalties and license forfeiture provisions set forth in §§ 16.1-278.9, 18.2-270 and 18.2-271 shall not apply to a violation of this section. Any person convicted of a violation of this section shall be eligible to attend an Alcohol Safety Action Program under the provisions of § 18.2-271.1 and may, in the discretion of the court, be issued a restricted license during the term of license suspension.
- Notwithstanding §§16.1-278.8 and 16.1-278.9 upon adjudicating a juvenile delinquent based upon a violation of this section, the juvenile and domestic relations district court shall order disposition as provided in subsection B.