A misdemeanor offense is less serious than a felony matter. There are four classes of misdemeanor offenses in Virginia (Code of Virginia § 18.2-9). In Virginia, the most serious class of misdemeanors are punishable by no more than twelve months of jail time and a $2,500.00 fine, either or both. Some acts may be classified as either a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the particular factual circumstances of the offense, such as the value of an item taken or damaged, the class of the victim, or the number of previous similar offenses.” Compared to a felony crime or charge, misdemeanor charge or crime is less severe, if both are compared to each other. Misdemeanor charges are usually defined as “smaller criminal” act. Although Misdemeanor is less harsh than felonies, there are infractions below Misdemeanor charges. Once you are charged with any misdemeanor charge, you are left with an option to plead your guilty or not guilty and fight for the case. Another way is to accept the charges and look for the lesser charges, fines or penalties ordered by the Court. Misdemeanor charges are classified into four different classes. All four classes have different penalties and fines; depends on the crime a person commits. All misdemeanor charges are for different crimes, they might contain the same penalties, but the crimes have been classified into four different categories.
What is the Penalty for a Class 3 Misdemeanor in Virginia?
The next step down in severity is the class 3 misdemeanor. Class 3 misdemeanors do not carry the potential loss of liberty and are generally restricted to regulatory and licensing enforcement matters, often involving forestry, livestock or sales.
- Unintentional Damage to Property or Monuments
Class 3 doesn’t have any jail period. An individual can only pay for the fine and walk forward. $500 maximum of the fine can be charged if you commit the class 3 misdemeanor crime.
People often ask if you have to hire an attorney for a class 3 misdemeanor charge because it doesn’t have a prison or jail sentence. Well, if it’s a misdemeanor charge, then you always need an attorney to represent you. You never know about the law issues and the court decorum. It is always suggested that you should hire an attorney according to your budget. Consultation with the lawyer in Virginia is absolutely free, you can discuss your case, and you can hire him/her if you are satisfied. You have to look for their experience, their success rate, and most importantly how they understand your case. If there is a lawyer who has experience of fighting misdemeanor charges, then you can hire him/her on priority.