Class 1 Misdemeanor – First Offense VA
In Virginia, most of the population think if they get in trouble for the very first time, the judiciary system will give them a break or show them some kind of leniency since they don’t have a previous record. Sadly, the request for leniency has different consequences depending on where that person goes to the court. For many years some of the Virginia courts declined to enter deferred dispositions or take a case under advisement unless there is a law that permits such a finding. The code of Virginia only has express first offender eminence for the following crimes: Domestic Violence (Virginia Code § 18.2-57.3); Possession of Drugs (Virginia Code § 18.2-251) and Underage Possession of Alcohol (Virginia Code § 4.1-305(F).
Misdemeanor Class – What does the Law say?
The authorized punishments for conviction of a misdemeanor are:
(a) For Class 1 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than twelve months and a fine of not more than $2,500, either or both.
(b) For Class 2 misdemeanors, confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both.
(c) For Class 3 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $500.
(d) For Class 4 misdemeanors, a fine of not more than $250.
For a misdemeanor offense prohibiting proximity to children as described in subsection A of § 18.2-370.2, the sentencing court is authorized to impose the punishment outlined in subsection B of that section in addition to any other penalty provided by law.
§ 18.2-11. Punishment for conviction of a misdemeanor.
A criminal charge is a devastatingly permanent matter for you and the rest of your life. Virginia convictions cannot be erased, and they don’t come off of a record like any traffic speeding ticket. Many otherwise laws remaining citizens have events when they make a bad decision. Drugs and trying personal circumstances can lead towards bad judgment. There is absolutely no reason why a mistake someone commits in his 20s should stop him from getting a job when he is 40 or 50 years old.
Whether it’s a felony charge or a misdemeanor charge, your life changes if you are ever found guilty with any of the offense you have caused. But, there is always a defense to every crime a person commits. Even if it is a felony one conviction, the court gives you full chance to prove yourself innocent if you have enough resources, evidence and a good attorney. You can always consult for free in any big law firm of Virginia and analyze your case under the knowledge of the code of Virginia and other laws.